World Federation of Methodist & Uniting Church Women (WFM&UCW)

Welcome to Unit Ireland of the World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women (WFM&UCW)

The World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women (WFM&UCW) is a fellowship of officially recognized groups of Methodist women organized on a national basis, or in a uniting church of which former Methodists are a part, or in a church which is affiliated to the World Methodist Council.

In over 80 countries around the world the World Federation is a symbol of spiritual ties, unity, sisterhood and the opportunity for the development of international understanding. This worldwide group of women working towards the betterment of people is a source of inspiration in a world divided by political, social and economic barriers. Through study programmes, international assemblies and seminars, through ecumenical activity and as a Non-Governmental Organisation at the United Nations, the movement widens the horizons of individual women.  Cultural differences begin to be understood. Women find that national boundaries can never divide them when they are united in Christ.

Download a WFM&UCW brochure

Download a PowerPoint Presentation

Unit Officers - 

(Click on names for email address)

Unit President: Elizabeth McWatters
Correspondent: Phyllis Watters 
Unit Treasurer: Barbara Fennell
Helen Kim Memorial Scholar: Wanda Hogan 

Area Officers 2016-2021

Area President: Louise Wilson 
Area Vice President: Carolyn Lawrence -

World Officers 2016-2021

World President - Alison Judd (UK)
World Vice President - Matilda Johnston (The Gambia)
World Secretary - Mataiva Robertson (New Zealand)
World Treasurer - Leu Pupulu (New Zealand)
President Emerita - Ann Connan (Australia)

WFM&UCW History

In 1923 a young Korean woman, Dr Helen Kim, first outlined her vision for a worldwide organisation for women.  In 1929 fourteen countries voted to unite in a new adventure of faith of world sisterhood with the purpose, ‘To Know Christ and To Make Him Known.’ 

That vision became a reality in 1939 with the founding of World Federation of Methodist Women by 27 countries.  Now more than 80 countries belong to the World Federation. 

In 1996 it changed its title at the Assembly in Brazil and became known as the World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women.  The World Federation is affiliated to the World Methodist Council but it is autonomous in its programme and constitution.  It holds an Assembly and elects officers every five years.  It is maintained by gifts, offerings and annual contributions from the Units.

Official Emblem of WFM&UCW

Methodist Women in Ireland logo

The official emblem of the World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women is the Tree of Life, based on Revelation 22:2 – “On either side of the river is the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, producing its fruit each month; and the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.”

The tree signifies life and vitality. The twelve fruits symbolize aspects of Christian service: evangelism, medical work, education, literature, children, youth, home and family life, rural projects, economic justice, international friendship, temperance and world peace.


United Nations and WFM&UCW

Since 1983 the World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women has had consultative status as a Non-Governmental Organisation with the United Nations, serving on the Economic and Social Council.  In addition the Federation has been awarded consultative status with UNICEF and the UN Children’s Fund. 

Representatives are appointed to work with the UN in New York and Geneva.

WFM&UCW Structure

The The World Federation of Methodist and Uniting Church Women is made up of Units and Areas.


The term ‘Unit’ is used to denote the national organizations which have membership with the World Federation.  Each member Unit operates under its own constitution.


The World Federation is organised into 9 geographical Areas:

  • South and East Africa
  • West Africa
  • Latin America
  • North America
  • East Asia
  • West Asia
  • South Pacific
  • Europe Continental
  • Europe, Britain and Ireland

There are two units within the Area-Europe, Britain & Ireland, MWiB and Unit Ireland. See following websites 

Find us on Facebook       Find us on Twitter